We Wish You A Merry Christmas

Take 6

The follow-up to the Grammy-winning He Is Christmas, We Wish You a Merry Christmas finds Take 6 at their finest. The sextet’s a cappella melodies paved the way for R&B boy groups Boyz II Men and may recall Manhattan Transfer’s multipart harmonic convergence, yet they continue to be unmatched in their ingenious take on popular jazz-vocal gospel. This outing finds the Seventh Day Adventist-affiliated outfit firmly locked into their signature vocal blend, augmenting their doo-wop a cappella styling with the occasional piano, light-handed bass, guitar, drums, and the cool blue saxophone of Kirk Whalum. A few songs are embellished by a triad of female harmonies and Brian McKnight (brother of founding member Claude McKnight) appears on “The Christmas Song.” Chestnuts like “Silver Bells,” “Go Tell It on the Mountain,” and “Joy to the World,” while happily recognizable, ring out especially merry as rendered by these fresh fellows.

  • We Wish You A Christmas/Carol Of The Bells
  • Whalum's Weather Report (Interlude)
  • let It Snow
  • Go Tell It On The Mountain
  • The Christmas Song
  • Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  • What Child Is This
  • Silver Bells
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem
  • Joy To The World

Northpole.com uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Got It.